Lime and Coconut Bliss Balls

Well, one thing’s for sure; it’s certainly been a while since I’ve written a blog post!

A lot of things have happened at home over the past couple of weeks and I’ve really needed to step back and take a bit of a break from life. I think it’s important to know what your limits are when handling what life throws at you, and it’s also important to have a coping mechanism for when things go wrong.

Fortunately, last week, I was able to spend time in Mornington having a relaxing holiday with my favourite person in the whole world (my personal coping mechanism), who somehow makes everything 100 times better by just being next to me.

But enough about me. Today we’re here to talk about BLISS BALLS! YAY!!! These genuinely make me very happy. They are like little bites of heaven and are a great healthy sweet. This recipe is so easily adaptable. Switch up the nuts, change the citrus, omit what you don’t like and replace it with what you do. Easy-peasy lemon-squeezy. Actually, given my citrus of choice in this recipe, I should probably say lime-squeezy – but let’s move on.

 

13072132_10154291692797044_1771155700_o

 

Recipe yields 24 ping pong sized bliss balls.

(Yes, the pictures only feature 23 balls. No, I could not resist the urge to snatch one off the plate before taking a photo. DON’T JUDGE ME.)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cashews (raw, unsalted)
  • 1 cup almonds (raw, unsalted)
  • 3/4 cup dates, pitted
  • 1/2 cup coconut
  • 1 – 2 tbs agave *optional
  • 1 lime, zested and juiced
  • Things to roll your bliss balls in (I used macca powder, white chia seeds, sesame seeds, coconut and cacao) *optional

 

13063973_10154291693432044_1115817880_o

 

Method:

  1. Put cashews, almonds, dates, coconut, agave and lime (juice and zest) into a food processor and blitz until a fine crumble is achieved
  2. Press the crumble into little balls
  3. OPTIONAL: Roll the balls in your selected toppings until coated well

That’s it! How easy was that?!

The bliss balls can be stored in the fridge for a few days or the freezer for months!

 

13035470_10154291692222044_1596592192_o

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jess says:

    I love reading your posts! Keep them coming! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

